Shillong August 31 : The ninth convocation of the University of Science and Technology Meghalaya (USTM) was held on August 31 at the USTM campus in Shillong. A total of 1,655 graduates were awarded degrees, and 14 scholars received PhD degrees.

The convocation was presided over by the Governor of Meghalaya, Phagu Chauhan. He conferred the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Letters (Hon. D. Litt.) upon L. Roy and Tarique Chauhan for their respective contributions.

In his address, the Governor commended USTM’s role in providing top-notch science and technology education and fostering groundbreaking research. He highlighted the university’s remarkable achievements, including the publication of ninety-six patents and two hundred and twenty-eight research endeavors.

The Governor also commended USTM’s dedication to providing free education to deserving students from economically disadvantaged backgrounds. He applauded the university for fostering an environment where students from diverse cultural, ethnic, and linguistic backgrounds converge, promoting the essence of unity in diversity.

The Governor concluded by urging USTM’s graduates to carry forward the knowledge and skills acquired during their academic journey. He emphasized that they have a special responsibility as the 9th batch of graduates, representing the university’s reputation. He expressed unwavering confidence that with teamwork, dedication, and a relentless pursuit of excellence, USTM would undoubtedly achieve its ambitious goals in establishing new dimensions of education and progress.

Other awards included the Visitor’s Best Award which went to Lipavi Yepthomi, LLB; the Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam Best PG Student award, which went to Jhuma Khatun, MA Rural Development; the Chancellor’s Best award, which went to Khughali G Assumi, MA Political Science; and the PA Sangma Best Undergraduate Award, which went to Atiqur Rahman, B.Sc. Physics. In addition, 24 gold medals were awarded to the best Postgraduates of the respective departments, while 22 gold medals were given away to the best undergraduate students from different departments.