Shillong, June 3 : The 3rd Shillong Open Shooting Championship, held on June 1st and 2nd at the Meghalaya Police Shooting Club indoor range, witnessed a record number of participants. With 67 shooters competing in both rifle and pistol categories, the event marked a significant leap in shooter participation compared to previous years.

The competition offered events for Air Rifle and Air Pistol across six categories: sub-youth (11-16), youth (16-18), junior (18-21), senior (21-45), master (45-60), and Para (rifle and pistol) for hearing-impaired athletes.

This year’s championship saw a first-time inclusion of eight athletes from the School & Center for the Hearing Handicapped Children (SCHHC), Laitumkhrah, including a para shooter.

The medal ceremony was graced by Chief Guest Rituraj Ravi, IPS SP, East Khasi Hills District, along with distinguished guests. John F. Kharshiing, President of the Shooting Association of Meghalaya (SAM), expressed gratitude to the Meghalaya Police Shooting Club for hosting the event.

Kharshiing highlighted SAM’s progress, including attracting more shooters and acquiring qualified NRAI jury members and coaches from Meghalaya. He emphasized the vision for a dedicated shooting range to nurture the state’s talented pool of shooters.

Chief Guest Ravi congratulated medal winners and urged them to strive for further excellence. He commended the efforts of Shri Davis N. Marak, IPS, DIG, in establishing the Meghalaya Police Shooting Range. Appreciation was also extended to President Kharshiing and Secretary Neil Sootinck for promoting shooting sports in the state.

Mr. Marak, in his vote of thanks, congratulated all participants and thanked the esteemed guests for their presence. The successful championship signifies a growing passion for shooting sports in Meghalaya and paves the way for future champions.

Sub-Youth Men Rifle Results: Gold Medal: Abhimanyu, Silver Medal: Lucky Pal, Bronze Medal: Batphang

Sub-Youth Women Rifle Results: Gold Medal: Sadgi Suraj, Silver Medal: Syesha O Hek

Sub-Youth Men Pistol Results: Gold Medal: Lalgouhao Singson, Silver Medal: Bawanypynkmen Syiemlieh, Bronze Medal: Dapkupar Dkhar

Sub-Youth Women Pistol Results: Gold Medal: Da I La Bynta, Silver Medal: Thomas Nithya

Youth Men Rifle Results: Gold Medal: Shashank Sh, Silver Medal: Batphang Blah, Bronze Medal: Kishan Kumar

Youth Women Rifle Results: Gold Medal: Sadgi Suraj

Youth Men Pistol Results: Gold Medal: Lamphang Mame Allya, Silver Medal: Lalgouhao Singson, Bronze Medal: Bawanypynkmen Syiemlieh

Youth Women Pistol Results: Gold Medal: Da I La Bynta, Silver Medal: Thomas Nithya

Junior Men Rifle: Gold: Abhimanyu, Silver: Khraw, Bronze: Abhay

Junior Women Rifle: Gold: Kopal Dubey, Silver: Kiran Nongrum

Junior Men Pistol: Gold: Lamphang Mame Allya, Silver: Lalguaháo Singson, Bronze: Dapkupar Dkhar

Junior Women Pistol: Gold: Da-I-Labyntha Ryntathiang, Silver: Thomas Nithya

Senior Men Rifle: Gold: Dennyson Kyrssian, Silver: Banrilang Bleine, Bronze: Abhay Mukherjee

Senior Women Rifle: Gold: Veronica Buhroy, Silver: S Rebecca, Bronze: Amalisha Sangma

Senior Men’s Pistol : Maxwell Pyngrope clinched the gold medal, Davis NR Marak secured the silver medal, Mawdaker Marwein won the bronze medal.

Senior Women’s Pistol : Da-I-Labyntha Ryntathiang emerged victorious, bagging the gold medal, Daphisa Nongsiej followed closely behind, winning the silver medal, Thomas Nithya secured the bronze medal.

Other Notable Results : Christina Kharbuli dominated the Master Women Rifle category, winning the gold medal. In the Senior Men Pistol (Para) category, Vivek Pun clinched the gold medal. Nengba Marak secured the gold medal in the Rifle Men (Deaf) category. Daaihunshisha Jawphniaw emerged victorious in the Rifle Women (Deaf) category. Yomiky and Manika Pasi bagged the gold medals in the Pistol Men (Deaf) and Pistol Women (Deaf) categories, respectively.