Shillong, October 26 : The Central Goods and Service Tax (CGST) & Customs Zone Guwahati inaugurated and adopted a Solar Street Light Project in four villages of Mawjrong, Dympep, Laitsohpliah and Sohrarim in the East Khasi Hills District, Meghalaya, as part of Special Campaign 3.0.

Sanjay Kumar Agarwal, Chairman, Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC), inaugurated the project and expressed satisfaction that the zone had taken the initiative to provide solar street lights with low maintenance and various lighting adaptability features to conserve energy. He also appreciated the efforts of the zone in implementing the project within 14 days at a cost of approx. Rs. 9 lakh right from the conceptualisation stage.

MLA Sohra Constituency Gavin M. Mylliem said it was a matter of pride and happiness that Chairman CBIC had visited Sohra and thanked CBIC for providing solar street lights to the four villages.

Headman, JP Kharkongor conveyed gratitude on behalf of all residents, acknowledging the challenges faced by small villages with limited amenities. With a focus on agriculture and catering to tourist demand, these solar street lights are poised to enhance safety and convenience for both residents and visitors.

The solar lights, placed at vital points identified by local authorities, are expected to benefit the residents in each village.

The office of the Commissionerate of Customs (Preventive), Shillong under Guwahati Zone, as part of the Swachhta Action Plan under Special Campaign 3.0, has installed 49 solar street lights in these 4 villages at vitally needed points, as identified by the local village authorities. These solar lights would be highly beneficial for the inhabitants as well as help in maintaining the cleanliness and safety of the area.

This initiative by the Department will go a long way in facilitating these villages and help the villagers in their daily life. They will provide a sustainable and effective solution for the embellishment of the villages helping to further boost tourism and welfare for the people.

Also present in the programme were the Chief Commissioner of Guwahati Zone, Ms Bandhana Deori; Pr. ADG, DGHRD, Rajeev Yadav; CCP (NER) Mahfuzur Rahman; R.K. Chandan, Commissioner, CGST, Guwahati and Dimapur; senior officers of CBIC and DRI, officers and staff from Customs, CGST & CX Guwahati Zone, officers of the Block administration, village authorities and people from these villages.